Grading the Draft: Winners & Losers

Posted by Jack Tumen

Craig Ruttle/AP Photo

Craig Ruttle/AP Photo

Now that the dust has settled, it’s time to go back and take a look at who came away with some future studs and who whiffed on their selections from the NFL Draft. In my mock draft, I nailed a grand total of…four picks! Woohoo! This was the deepest draft class in recent memory but there were some teams who really nailed their selections and others who still have me scratching my head.

Winner – St. Louis Rams

The Rams far and away had the best draft of any team. Greg Robinson number 2 overall was the safe-bet pick, then Aaron Donald “slipping” to 13 was the icing on the cake for their 1st round. The Rams understand that controlling the line of scrimmage is the way to win games in this league and they took that approach with these two picks.

Then with the 41st overall pick they took DB Lamarcus Joyner; a player whom I feel is going to be a star in this league. Add Tre Mason in the 3rd? Your first four picks can’t get much better than that. How about later when they plucked Mizzou’s E.J. Gaines just for some more CB depth. On top of all that, they made the most historic pick in NFL history, stealing Michael Sam in the 7th round to make him the first openly gay player to be drafted. As the Co-SEC Defensive POY in 2013, that dude should have gone in the 4th round. Jeff Fisher and his staff absolutely killed it.

Other Winners – Jacksonville, Oakland, Houston

Loser – Indianapolis Colts

With only five picks and little capital, the Colts had to sit back and let the draft fall to them in the wake of the horrendous Trent Richardson trade. But with five picks in a deep draft, you’d figure they land a few big names, right? How about nooo. I dig Donte Moncrief as a WR prospect, but with their other four picks they took who, who, who and WHO? Jeez, man. If I was a Colts fan, I would’ve had my head in my hands for 3 straight days while that draft was going on. I’m looking at who they had a chance to draft when they picked and they passed up some really great players like Allen Robinson and Tre Mason in favor of…Jack Mewhort? Listen, I get that O-line isn’t a glamour pick but that’s just TURRIBLE.

Other Losers – Kansas City, Miami

Adam Hunger – USA TODAY Sports

Adam Hunger – USA TODAY Sports

Best Pick – Teddy Bridgewater

I’m really happy for this kid. I stayed up until quarter to 6 in the morning to see the first round through and I’m glad that I got to see him picked. Minnesota made a great move by trading back into the 1st round for the second year in a row; this time to get their franchise quarterback of the future. The value of this selection is what makes it the best pick. One poor outing at his pro day really sent Teddy tumbling down the draft board but I’m glad that the Vikings saw past that and gave him a chance. He’s in the right place in Minnesota

Worst Pick – Taylor Lewan

Honestly, I don’t know what Tennessee was thinking with this pick. Their offensive line was already very solid prior to this and they had other needs that were much more dire; Lewan wasn’t even the best player on the board at the time. This is a kid with major character concerns who was facing three misdemeanor assault charges just weeks prior to the draft. They made up for it with their later picks but overall a poor first choice of the Ken Whisenhunt era.

Player to Immediately Succeed – Brandin Cooks: The Saints traded up for this stud wideout and he’ll be plugged right in to New Orleans’ high-octane passing attack. He’ll quickly find a new best friend in Drew Brees; it’s a perfect fit.

Biggest Risk – Justin Gilbert: I have Gilbert as my biggest risk only because the Browns traded up within the top 10 to take him. With Joe Haden already in the fold, I think the Browns would have done themselves justice trading up one spot further to grab Mike Evans. Top-10 was a little high for Gilbert if you ask me but he’s certainly a talented player. We’ll see how that one pans out.

Biggest Steal – Louis Nix III: If I hadn’t already given Teddy a category, he’d probably be this guy as well. However, the fact that Nix fell to the third round was surprising in its own. Houston did themselves a solid by stopping his slide and putting him next to Jadeveon Clowney and J.J. Watt on the league’s scariest defensive line. In other news, Oakland swiping Khalil Mack at no. 5 was a steal in my book.

Can’t wait to see how it all plays out on the field. Now, for my 2015 mock draft!

…not.

Leave a Reply

